Software Engineering: Question Set – 01

Software Engineering: Question Set – 01

What is SDLC?

The abbreviation for “Software Development Life Cycle” is “SDLC.” It outlines the methodical procedure that must be followed in order to build software. The SDLC is comprised of the following stages:

  • Requirement Gathering
  • System Analysis
  • Design
  • Coding
  • Testing
  • Maintenance
  • Documentation.

State few models of SDLC

When it comes to the software development life cycle (SDLC), there are a few different models available to choose from. There are many different models, such as the Waterfall model, the V-Model, the Agile model, and so on.

Enlist Few Project Management Tools

The following is a list of some of the most popularly utilised tools for project management that are currently on the market in the industry today.

  • Gantt Chart
  • Checklists
  • Status Reports
  • Histograms
  • Microsoft Project

Explain: Functional Requirements

The features that a developed software product is intended to carry out are referred to as functional requirements. One example of a functional requirement that must be met by an eCommerce website is the addition of payment methods.

Explain: Non Functional Requirements

The application’s usability is evaluated based on non-functional requirements, which include the look and feel of the user interface, security, performance, interoperability, and reliability, amongst others.

Explain the working mechanism of the Waterfall model

The waterfall model is a sequential model, which means that the beginning of the following phase does not occur until after the preceding phase has been finished. For instance, the testing phase won’t begin until the development phase is finished, and the maintenance phase won’t begin until the testing phase is done.

The numerous steps that make up the waterfall model are outlined below for your convenience. It is important to keep in mind that the order of stages as well as the number of phases that comprise a project might differ from one project to another.

  • Requirements: During this stage of the process, a document known as a Software Requirement Specification (SRS) will be created to describe the system that will later be constructed. This phase of the software development life cycle (SDLC) is the most significant phase because a good knowledge of requirements from the client will limit the amount of rework needed in subsequent stages.
  • Design: At this point in the process, the architecture of the system that is going to be constructed is being completed. A high-level design or a low-level design can both be considered to be examples of architecture. In order to be considered architecture, a system’s hardware and software requirements must also be included in its description.
  • Coding: During this phase, the code that will be used for the system that is going to be developed is written. Before deploying the code to be tested, the developers need to complete both Unit Testing and Integration Testing at this point.
  • Testing: At this point in the process, the product that has been built undergoes testing at the hands of an independent testing team to determine whether or not it satisfies the criteria outlined in the Software Requirement Specification (SRS). Before approving the product for release, any issues that were discovered during this step need to be resolved.
  • Maintenance: The testing phase is followed by this step when it is finished. After the product has been delivered to the client, it resolves any production difficulties that may have occurred as a result of the delivery. The length of time spent in maintenance varies considerably from project to project and organisation to organisation.